Vandergriff on 1000ft racing!!! (1 Viewer)

A "dangerous sport" is not a reasonable answer for the deaths of Darrell, Eric or Scott.

Were all 3 of those deaths because the track was 1320' instead of 1000'?

How many other deaths in this sport can you attribute to 1320'?

Someone will eventually die with the distance at 1000'. Then what?

I have been attending for nearly 40 years. Not anymore. I'll still watch it on tv, and support the sponsors, but I am not going to go to anymore NHRA events.

Nate, I think your missing the point.

I don't think Bob has a problem with going 330mph and accepts the danger in doing just that. I think he does have a problem with whizzing past light poles, scoreboards, trees and trying to stop on a track that is to short or to rough, when going that fast. Our driver and I have the same concerns.

Drag Racing is most certainly dangerous, but why add unnecessary risks?

Formula 1 went through the same kinda thing in the late 60's and 70's. They were racing at places that the cars had far outgrown what those tracks were capable of handing. Some tracks were dropped, some were shorten and redesigned, some fit in just fine, but still had to have areas upgraded in the name of racer and spectator safety.

Last edited:
I have been attending for nearly 40 years. Not anymore. I'll still watch it on tv, and support the sponsors, but I am not going to go to anymore NHRA events.

That is my stance, too. I have spent a lot of $$$ on tickets over the last few decades, but no more. 1,320' is my minimum.

Nate, I think your missing the point.

I don't think Bob has a problem with going 330mph and accepts the danger in doing just that. I think he does have a problem with whizzing past light poles, scoreboards, trees and trying to stop on a track that is to short or to rough, when going that fast. Our driver and I have the same concerns. Drag Racing is most certainly dangerous, but why add unnecessary risks?