Vegas fueling rules (1 Viewer)

Gregg Pickens

Nitro Member
I understand most but not this one:

"Vehicle Fueling in the Pits
When fuel is dispensed into a vehicle in the pits, the two shall be connected with a bonding wire regardless of the material that the container is made of."

Exactly what part of a plastic fuel jug and plastic funnel is being grounded?

It's to prevent a static discharge spark. As someone who has firsthand experience with getting a nasty shock by plastic sheets (I used to run thermoforming machines at Amana Refrigeration that made the cabinet liners) I can sort of understand why they're requiring this.

That's new to me, I've been racing there for over 8 years. Static electricity is a problem in the desert, but all you have to do is hold the fuel jug in one hand and touch the car with the other. I've never had a spark yet. Never heard of that rule either.

That's new to me, I've been racing there for over 8 years. Static electricity is a problem in the desert, but all you have to do is hold the fuel jug in one hand and touch the car with the other. I've never had a spark yet. Never heard of that rule either.
We had to do it at Vegas-2 last year.

The car being fuled in fact any car, the car is not gounded because of the rubber tires. Touching the car will not ground the car because the person has most likely has rubber shoes on, anyhow to have a perfect ground you would have to be bare footed then touch the car, and thats not a 100% positive.
The best way to do it would be to drive a screw driver in the ground, then
connect a small wire (14 gauge will do it) with alligator clips on it, one end to the screw driver and the other clip to any metal under the car.