Fram Racing Oil Filter Recall (1 Viewer)

Just be sure if you use the System 1 when you go to clean it the only true way to clean it is with a sonic cleaner. Quite a few of our customers would clean them the old fashioned way from the inside out with solvent. Basically what happened was that it just compacted the stuff in the filter, thus in turn "plugging" it up. Yes we had some customers that burnt engines down because of it. We sonic cleaned them from there on out and "knock on wood" the guys that still run that set up haven't had a failure since.

I have been cleaning my with brake clean and air for 10 years same one 3 diff motors..and the first motor hurt itself. I had to clean real well on that one.. I not sure I can fall for that one..???

I think Fram is getting a bad rap on this bad filter deal.
I have read all of the other threads on Fram did this and that and so on.
Most of those threads do not state if it was an HP filter or the stock PF style.
Like Bobby Miller stated he used a PH13 (I believe) and he had very little oil pressure on his new engine. changed to System one and every thing was OK.
This recall may be for a very valid reason determind by Fram. But seems like most of these negitive Fram threads have perhaps been comparing apples to oranges???
Here is my first hand experience with Fram filters. I have used Fram HP4's since as far back as I can remember. I have raced since 1969. I do not remember exactly when I started using them but it was quite a while back.
I have never had a filter problem until I used a PH13(stocker) on a brand new engine. I used the PH because it was cheaper.
I have always broken in new engines with a warm up, rerun the valves, a couple more warm ups and cool down cycles and then head for the track.
I would make a half pass on the race car, remove the filter and cut it open. After verifying oil filter was void of any foreign material I would add a new filter and go race.