Ford 9" Diff (1 Viewer)

Mooseman

Nitro Member
I hope I don't sound stupid asking this but im still learning about diff's . What can you guys and girls tell me about the ford 9" diff , I know its great but what are its gear ratios and stuff like that ?

The Ford 9inch probably has the most different ratios available. Glad I put one in my 55 Chevy.

William, the Ford 9" is the industry standard third member. It's virsatile, diverse and structurally sound. You can gear it from the mid 2s well into the high 5s and maybe beyond that (but I've never seen them.) It's the general design structure coupled with parts availability (especially aftermarket) that attracts racers to it's usage. Most full tube chassis cars will use a "Fab 9" that was fabricated from scratch to accept Ford 9" components. Nearly every chassis manufacturer offers them. Strange has a wide variety available. (We run the Strange 9" Top Loaders in four of our cars) Mark Williams also has a variety of them available and they, along with many others have gearsets, bearings, spools, axles, brake kits, rotors, etc. to match your specific need.
There are other choices but you get into rare parts, questionable structure and unknown quantities real quick?

Would it be possible to shorten a Ford 9" and put jack chrisman floating hubs on it , reinforce the housing and put stronger bearings and bits in and use it as a full floater. Im considering getting one for my low buck funny car project that I will hopfully work on over the next year or two depending on my spare time.

I hope I don't sound stupid asking this but im still learning about diff's . What can you guys and girls tell me about the ford 9" diff , I know its great but what are its gear ratios and stuff like that ?