The Canopy (1 Viewer)

You know what I worry about? In the event of a bad accident, will these canopies stay in one piece? Or will they become so much Lexan and carbon fiber shrapnel? Potentially posing considerable risk for soft tissue injury to drivers.

Doc

You know what I worry about? In the event of a bad accident, will these canopies stay in one piece? Or will they become so much Lexan and carbon fiber shrapnel? Potentially posing considerable risk for soft tissue injury to drivers.

Doc

they stay together (for the most part) when they hit the water at over 250. water is alot harder than the ground and concrete at that speed.

NICE!!

Smart move, I think, by Don to offer it to all. That way no one can claim it's a "performance enhancer."

The hydros have been using these for a while now, and I've not heard of any issues of them coming apart at the wrong time.

Will they need to run a fire bottle with this thing in place?

I'm no engineer, but having very hard bits and pieces of carbon fiber and Lexan break into shards in water is one thing. Because I'm thinking injury likelihood with hydros is mitigated by the absorptive and deflective qualities of H2O. But having the same thing happen on dry land at speeds in excess of 320 mph is, by dint of physics, a whole 'nother thing to consider.

As to fire protection, what's to say in certain scenarios that encapsulating our beloved top fuel pilots might lead to entombing them in a furnace-like space from which there's no ready escape? I'm thinking a situation where a car goes inverted similar to the accident Ant suffered in 2010 at Firebird. Fuel was everywhere. It was only blind luck it didn't ignite. Further, opening a "hatch" could be impossible in a situation like that because of proximity to the ground.

More weight for more fire bottles to account for this eventuality negates any aero advantage the enshrouding accomplished, right?