Minimum age rule? (1 Viewer)

I think they just want to eliminate any issues with minors by this approach, a minor can not legally sign a waiver for starters. The states all have differing laws on how old you must be to race a car in competition, some are 16, some 17 and some are at 18. This just gives the sanctioning body a level field across the board.

Hey Ian, it was nice to meet you in E-town, hope your friends enjoyed it!
To the topic at hand though, what's to do with the tobacco end of it? The Skoal Showdown is the only conflict I can think of.

He is an ex Nascar fan, he loved it and wants to go to Reading now. He's hooked and his stepdaughter hasn't stopped about Ashley Force.

There may be something in the settlement about age, they did note it only effects the NHRA stuff, not local track stuff.:confused:

Isn't Daniel Wilkerson 16? I assume he won't be able to run his A/FC at national events, but can at divisionals? :(:confused:

I'm no expert on this, but I believe it has more to do with the fact that any person under the age of 18 is non contractible. Meaning they can not sign any kind of waver, entry forms ECT. I know that in the USAC Ford focus Midget series if you are under 18 you have to go to court and become partially emancipated from your parents and become reasonable for your self order to race.

Dan

Actually the rule is related to a California court decision re the tobacco deal. If you look around there is info out there somewhere if not terribly explicit.

Roo

I believe the California ruling basically said that the agreement meant that tobacco products could not sponsor a series or a competitor in a series where any competitor was under the age of 18. More "Big Brother" stuff.

I believe the California ruling basically said that the agreement meant that tobacco products could not sponsor a series or a competitor in a series where any competitor was under the age of 18. More "Big Brother" stuff.