Interesting Pic (1 Viewer)

According to my digital camera manufacturer, Sony, the ISO setting on a digital camera is the same as the shutter speed so my shutter speed was 100, equivalent to ISO 100, which I manually set.

I am not a camera expert nor do I pretend to be one. And no, I did not stay a Holiday Inn Express last night. So my question is, How fast or slow in real time is ISO 100 on a digital camera if ISO 100 is the shutter speed setting?

Just saying it is a slow setting doesn't mean anything. ISO is an international standard acronym and ISO 100 is a particular standard for camera light sensitivity or shutter speed (I'm still not sure) that all manufacturers adhere to so that pictures should be the same no matter what brand camera you use. So again, what is the shutter speed at ISO 100?? If we know this, we should be able to prove or disprove the theory.

Are there any hardcore camera experts that would like to chime in on this?

I know that there are also other manual settings such as aperture which I think is how far open the shutter goes.

If the 100 setting on the camera is slow enough that all cylinders should have fired once by the time the shutter opened and closed, I will gladly say I was wrong.

Last edited:
okay, I am not a photo expert... but, lets see if I remember correctly from college work study...