Connie Cohen? (1 Viewer)

Isn't there another way to shut those things off. A regular kill switch. Something? Whatever? That was about the worst I've seen and she JUST missed the opening in the turnout as well!
I've always wondered why they never had a killswitch on the right bar just like streetbikes. :confused: I guess the reason might be the fear of accidentally hitting it on a good pass and screwing up a good run. I'd rather goof up a pass then be held 'hostage' on a runaway bike. I've been riding sportbikes since 1991 and I've never once hit the kill switch by accident.

That was about the worst I've seen and she JUST missed the opening in the turnout as well!

That's what I was looking at too... if she was just a little more to the left she would have run right into the edge of the rail, and I don't think we would be saying "thank god"s but rather RIP's...

CJ Curtsinger

There is a video clip of the incident on ESPN's website. Click on the NHRA section and there is a section of clips from Englishtown; Connie's incident is on the page 2. (there's 3 clips per page)

Here's the correct ESPN page. (It's not the most clear cut page to navigate to.)

The video is on the right hand side, navigate to the second page and you can see it.

I saw some smoke coming off her tires as the bike seemed to be heading off to the left wall. The throttle did seem to hang, and it looked like she was really fighting to keep it straight. She JUST missed hitting the striped curved portion after the final turn off, instead bouncing off of the flat portion before hitting the net.

I'm glad she's OK. That looked ugly.

The throttle did seem to hang...
To my ears it sounds like the engine is at at least 5000 - 6000 rpm as she's trying to keep it off the wall and it also sounds like it's laboring under load like the throttle is stuck open. She's definitely very lucky.