Cheating... and I don't mean on your spouse (1 Viewer)

barry

Nitro Member
DISCLAIMER - I have no knowledge of anyone, nor am I in any way implying that now or at any time, anyone who is, was or will be involved in NHRA drag racing is or was intentionally or accidentally cheating... BUT... someone recently told me that there are compounds that can be added to methanol and/or nitro that would greatly enhance the power of these fuels, and that the added compounds would not change the specific gravity. (as in what current fuel check would detect) Furthermore, I was told that NHRA has no instruments for detailed testing of fuels at the track.
Can someone please tell me this is not true.

Would this be cheating in the Alky catagories? I'm not sure the fuel cars need more power, hell they can smoke the tires at will.

The most popular "additives" a while ago were benzene and hydrazine. Here are some specific gravities Nitromethane - 1.139, methanol - 0.791, benzene - 0.876 and hydrazine - 0.797. Some people who were "mixing" didn't like running at night due to the tell tale flame color.

“If the ground is shakin; and the flames are green, he must be using that Hydrazine.”

392nitro1.jpg
392nitro2.jpg

http://www.dragzine.com/news/flashback-friday-the-story-of-the-leathal-fuel-called-hydrazine/

https://euclidsbridge.wordpress.com/2011/11/21/drag-racing-pioneers-or-suicidal-nutjobs/

I remember a quote that 2% would result in a good run, but 5% would result in header fumes that could hurt a lot of people on the way down the track...

Very good reads, both of them. This made me think: is there a chance this chemical or something like it was responsible for the funny car fuel tank explosion during the finish line interview (Tony P?) a few years ago? I remember a couple things about it: the person being interviewed seemed less than surprised and all the ESPN crew totally blew it off as "normal". I never saw it before or since.