Burton Smith is now $340M poorer! (1 Viewer)

Hey, Jeff, got the timing system for the NHIS dragstrip on the schedule yet? You can tell me, I won't tell anyone else...

Bruton (not Burton as the subject is spelled) will just use this as the excuse he needs to give one of NHIS's two Nascar race weekends to Las Vegas.

I don't think there's any doubt as to why he bought NHIS, he wants the fall "count down" date for Vegas. I had heard, read and hoped he might build a strip at NHIS but as this article states the legalities may be against him.

I guess it's now a "hangar queen," a term used in the military to describe a non-flying aircraft being used as a source of spare parts and and for maintenance training. By Bruton's NASCAR standards, the NHIS events don't draw enough spectators to make the "A-list." I hate to see it happen, had the good fortune to cover the first NASCAR race at NHIS, way back in the dark ages when I was working for a living in Bangor, Maine.

I guess it's now a "hangar queen," a term used in the military to describe a non-flying aircraft being used as a source of spare parts and and for maintenance training. By Bruton's NASCAR standards, the NHIS events don't draw enough spectators to make the "A-list." I hate to see it happen, had the good fortune to cover the first NASCAR race at NHIS, way back in the dark ages when I was working for a living in Bangor, Maine.

They sell out both races, can't do much better than that.

Yeah, but Bruton's definition of a sellout is 150,000 or more.

It will certainly be interesting to see what happens. The quote in that story from Smith feeds the idea that he is going to move the dates and abandon the place, a la Rockingham, and North Wilksboro. That's pretty much blinf speculation..but who knows.

One thing I do know is that if he wants to run a foul of that document that's attached to the deed for the track, he'll find out just how stubborn those New Hampshire Yankees can be....he he.