Barklage Racing Looking To Keep Momentum Alive In Indy (1 Viewer)

BARKLAGE RACING LOOKING TO KEEP MOMENTUM ALIVE IN INDY
Top Fuel Pilot Scott Palmer to Drive for Barklage Racing

July 12, 2007 ( INDIANAPOLIS , IN ) – After a short break, racing resumes with the Super Chevy Show in Indianapolis , Indiana . Barklage Racing is excited to be back in action, but the weekend comes with some anxiety of the unknown.

Although Cody Barklage is tied for first place in the Nitro Coupe class, he will not be driving his Pontiac GTO this weekend. Behind the wheel will be Scott Palmer, regular driver of the O’Reilly Auto Parts / Nitro Plate Top Fuel Dragster.

“I really just wanted to help out a friend this weekend,” said Palmer. “I’ve known Mark [Barklage] for a long time, and when he called needing a driver, I said yes. A lot of people only know me from driving Top Fuel, but I’ve been a door car guy for more then 10 years. I’m a Pro Mod guy and love racing Pro Mod’s. My goal for the weekend is the same as any other. We want to go out and win the race. I know the Barklage’s have a good car, so I think we should be able to do well.”

The last minute change of driver was due to tragedy hitting the Barklage camp. Earlier this week in a devastating accident, longtime friend of both Barklage Racing and Mark Barklage Drywall Joe Bellamy, was involved in an accident at the Barklage Racing shop. He did succumb to his injuries and passed later the same day.

“We are all very sad and heart broken about the accident,” said Cody Barklage. “Our whole race team and drywall crew are in shock right now. Joe was a good friend to us all and we will miss him very much. He spent a lot of time in the race shop and with the drywall crews, so he was like family. I love to race, and I’m going to miss being in Indy with the team, but I need to be home for the funeral services, and to support my family now.”