Speaking of music.... (1 Viewer)

Nitrohaulic

Nitro Member
Here's a topic I've never seen here. I'm a self taught 42 year old computer idiot who's just starting to look into the world of downloading music. What's everyone's opinion on devices and services? XM's been great but, knowing that every song I listen to will be one I like/not having to channel search would be nice.

I've seen little boom boxes for ipods, believe they were called docking stations. Are ipods the only ones those are available for? Would be nice to play the same stuff in the shop that I'll be listening to on the road during the week.

I see that Napster says you can listen to what you pay for as long as you continue to be a subscriber. So, you don't own the music? Even if it's on a portable device?

Doesn't anyone want to help the idiot....er.......Ron with his music problem. :D

I don't have this problem Ron. I just insert the CD and hit PLAY

Works everytime.:cool:

LOL, hey, I said idiot before you did! It just seems like XM's classic rock has gotten softer and softer. As widespread as this technology is, I figured there'd be a ton of people here who could share some info with a newbie, that I'd be about the last person on earth to go this route.

I've downloaded a few programs. Unless I'm missing something, it looks like all the classic rock on emusic is baloney/bands I've never heard of. Glad I looked into it and found that before I fell for their "free first 50 downloads with subscription" gimmick. I don't think there's 50 songs there that I'd want.

I was listening to 30 second samples on Napster and Bad Company's Bad Company is some kind of flakey knockoff. It looks like the band with the most authentic stuff there is the same band that got the brand name knocked out of the file sharing business, Metallica. Go figger. I don't see any of Def Leppard's old stuff on any of them. I just tried their tribute band on Napster and it's absolutely SICK!