Line Stays Grounded, Looks to Continue Improving in Reading (1 Viewer)

Mooresville, N.C., August 19, 2009 – Over the last two months, Jason Line’s Summit Racing team has been the standard by which other NHRA Pro Stock racers are measured. During that time, he has advanced to five consecutive final rounds for the first time in his career, winning in Norwalk and Sonoma and closing to within 27 points of the lead in the Full Throttle championship standings.

Although certainly pleased with this recent surge, the 19-time national event winner continues to focus on the big picture, namely winning his second Pro Stock championship. Therefore, as the world’s best quarter-milers convene in Reading, PA for this weekend’s Toyo Tires Nationals, Line is quick to emphasize the need for continued improvement.

“This Summit Racing team’s performance has been great over the last few races,” said Line. “After all, we’ve gone to five straight final rounds, which I’ve never done before, and won twice. On top of that, at the last two races we’ve put both Summit Pontiacs in the final, with Greg (teammate Anderson) and I splitting the wins. Anyway you look at it, it’s a great run, and something we should be proud of. I certainly don’t want to ta ke anything away from that.

“Even so, there’s room for improvement, and I can be better than I am right now. For example, we went to five finals, but didn’t win all five. It just shows that as close as the competition is right now in Pro Stock, you have to be perfect. If we want to win the championship, which is our ultimate goal, we must keep any and all mistakes to an absolute minimum. It’s all good, but we just need to keep working at it, which is what we’re looking to do this weekend in Reading.”