A little Winter warmup (1 Viewer)

There are so many videos on Youtube, it's amazing. I have a question, I was watching an injected FE dragster fire up and head to the line (I think it was the Woodburn video) and it looked like after they fired the motor, a crewguy put a cover over the stacks, kind of like what you would use to keep stuff out when the car is parked. But the driver headed to the line that way. Any idea what that is for? Is it maybe screened on top?

When I raced/crewed at Woodburn, I knew a few that did that. I think the video you are talking about was Earl Floyd, Mike Floyd driving. I know there are more knowledgeable people on here that could give a good detailed answer.

Could have been, Eric, I'd have to go back and look at the video. I'm kind of new to Youtube, but I enjoy the links that Maters post on here. Except that when I watch one video it leads me to look at a seemingly endless supply of obscure drag racing clips, some modern and many very old, which is very cool but I end up spending way too much time watching! Anyway, the dragster definitely had very tall stacks, like the old days, vs. the real short ones on modern A/NDs. The cover seemed to stretch over the stacks like it had an elastic base. Maybe Buzzz could chime in, I know he has run the tall stack injectors on his FC.

I know what you mean about You Tube videos. They can be very addictive.
When I was working on a J/F digger with my dad we had a leather cover for the stacks. It would come off for the run. I have seen a few people, such as Earl Floyd in the pics I linked, do the burnout with the mesh screen cover.

Here's one for you that I can't find on ANY of the internets: