40 years ago (1 Viewer)

Kat

Nitro Member
40 years ago on Labor Day, I took this photo of John “the zookeeper” Mulligan’s clutch explosion.
69indy1x.jpg

In the summer of 1969 I had gotten a new 35mm camera with a telephoto lens. I had been attending the Nationals in Indy since 1966. At that time there were very few fans that had cameras with telephoto lenses. I was watching the race thru the viewfinder, and by the time I got it focused John was at the finish. I managed to rewind and get a couple of more shots. When I got my colored slides developed, I viewed the crash several times. Later when I found out that Moe had died 17 days later from a result of the accident I pulled out those 3 slides and never looked at them again. This summer I had over 400 of my drag racing slides scanned into digital photos and I included these shots of the B & M dragster. I had seen very few pictures of this accident in any magazines throughout the years. See this link for more photos of Moe and his rides that I took in his earlier years. Pictures by 7nighthawk - Photobucket

More photos and stories about John’s life and Beebe & Mulligan can be found in Don Ewald’s webb site “We did it for love”. John Mulligan - The Early Years

Enjoy,
Ken

Piece of our sport's history there, Ken... Thank you for posting

One of the reasons the 'Mater is the best place to come for drag racing...

Thanks for posting Ken. Never ceases to amaze me at some of the photos that show up on this site. Thanks for sharing.:)

Really neat picture (neat now atleast - not so neat back then for the driver.... or the guy in the tan pants & white shirt.... one leg up... that's pretty good reflexes LOL

Ken, Guess I should say thank you, no matter how much looking at those shots hurts.

Gonna wipe the tears and remember the better times.

d'kid

That's just awesome . I love this stuff. I wear a "Beebe and Mulligan" Worlds Fastest T-Shirt whenever I can !

Ken
Terrific shots with the then new 35mm.