IHRA Help Needed - Our Track Switched (1 Viewer)

Earl

Nitro Member
I just learned that our local track in Salt Lake City switched from NHRA to IHRA. I went to the IHRA web site and could not find any information on classes, rule book, licensing, chassis certs etc. Can anyone point me in the right direction on how to obtain that information?

This is quite a shock. All the tracks we travel to are NHRA. I am assuming we are going to have to have duel licenses, chassis certs ect. Nothing against the IHRA, but I don't think our local racers are going to be too happy about all of this. Any advice from anyone that has gone thru this would be great if you don't mind taking the time to respond. I am a no box Pro racer (or should I say I was >;-) ) and don't have a clue what the IHRA has....

Thanks In advance.

Earl

On the site (NitroJam.com) there's a competition link that has a bunch of info.

The short answer is that much of what you're doing cross-grades. A number of the classes are the same, just with different names. And if you have a current NHRA license, you can get an IHRA license pretty much by just paying a fee.

While I understand the concern, everybody says that the IHRA people are really helpful, so give 'em a call (see the link above for a phone number).

Hope this helps,
Chris

Chris,

This does help. If nothing else, the positive nature of your reply is encouraging. Thank you for the links, I will check them out....

Earl

Good news, I just talked to our track manager, I think this could be a good thing. Especially for racers in my class - pro - no license required until you get below 9 sec. I know a lot of guys running low 10's might want to step their program up since they don't have to do the chassis cert and license until they reach 8.99. Feeling better about this all the time.

Earl

You may not have known this, but IHRA runs Box and No Box sportsman classes at their National Events!