Winternationals advice (1 Viewer)

janet

Nitro Member
I am a relative newbie to watching drag racing, and have only attended a few races in person (Reading 2003-2007, Columbus 2004, Indy 2004, Vegas 2 2005). I am seriously thinking about attending the 2009 Winternationals but would like some advice. Please understand, though, I have a very limited budget and am quite used to less than the best quality.

I don't think I can afford Top Eliminator seats, so other than those, where is the best place to sit -- I tend to like high up, on the pit side, near the launch area but I am flexible. Would I have nasty sun in my eyes if I were to sit in such a location at Pomona? Are there obstructions I need to consider?

Somebody asked previously about lodgings in the area for the Finals, and I assume most of that is still valid. Somebody mentioned that the Rodeway is no good but it has some of the best prices -- what is the problem with this place? I will be accompanied by my spouse and he is also used to staying in dives so unless the place is horribly dirty or unsafe, we really don't worry about appearance or amenities. The Motel 6 in San Dimas is about $30 more per night. Is it worth it?

Do people who are not local fly into the local Ontario airport or just to LAX and then rent a car? I need to rent a car regardless, and the price differential between flying into the Ontario airport and LAX is several hundred dollars so I am leaning towards LAX. Is it a nightmare to get to and away from, or is it a reasonable option?

I would appreciate any and all input from locals and others who have gone to Pomona for the Winternationals.

Thanks

Janet