First time to Pomona (1 Viewer)

Mark

Nitro Member
So it's my first time going to Pomona...checking my oldest kid out of school Wednesday afternoon and flying cross country. I've got the tickets, hotel, etc, but I'm looking for suggestions on some other practical matters, like parking at the event, etc. Any and all help would be appreciated!

El Merendero for lunch, right next to the track it's a Pomona tradition.

Alan

I went once in 2003 to the Finals and it wasn't that expensive to park. I think it was like $15 per day. I am sure it has gone up, but I doubt it is crazy high.

Don't forget to buy a $12 beer in the commemorative Fairplex collector mug and find the grandstand intersection of Aisle 24 and Row 24. ;)

El Merendero for lunch, right next to the track it's a Pomona tradition.

Alan

Alan is SPOT ON for lunch
Seriously pay the extra for Pitside parking at least one day and feel like royalty, the rest of the days just walk with the masses from the stables.
Darr is court #2424 with Judge Couch presiding going to be in session this year on Saturday? I won't be back from SEMA until then.

so, uh, how bad are we talking?

Pitside preferred is $25-30 per day, and while that seems really high. Consider preferred is $15 and is about a 10 minute walk to the gate give or take. Pit side preferred is next door to the entrance and has its own exit, and if you have ever fought the traffic out of the Fairplex you won't park there again!

Where else on the planet can you eat real deal carne asada and listen to Alan call superstock qualifying. It doesn't get any better than that.

Parking can run as high as $40 and that puts you right at the gate. Like everyones said, El Merendero is pretty good. They should haul a$$ next weekend looking at the weather forecast. We moved out of SoCal in 97, but still manage to get down there for the two races.

Last edited:
Sneak off and go over to the rail museum. The Union Pacific Big Boy is the "top fueler" of the trians.