CAT's return on Investment in Drag Racing (1 Viewer)

Jim

Nitro Member
I had an opportunity to talk with one of Ransome CAT's people on Friday at Reading. He shared with me a very interesting figure.

They did a one race deal with Power's (Rod Fuller's Car) last year and had attendees sign up if they wanted to hear about employment opportunities in their multi-shop CAT organization.

They received about 150 qualified leads and HIRED 50 new techs as a direct result of this one form of exposure.

Assuming an average salary of $50K (I don't know if that's low $ or high $)and an employment agency fee of $15,000. each, that niche sponsorship was worth $750,000. .
Just as important, they felt their interview to hire ratio was as-good-as or better than ANY other method. Time being money in business, that's a LOT of opportunity costs saved.

Seems to me, Werner Trucking also used their sponsorship to hire drivers but, I have no knowledge of their numbers.

Seems like some smarts were applied on how to get a return on their investment as opposed to Powerade which does nothing to get any exposure from their sponsorship.

seems to me like CAT could possibly sign on for a full year deal. but if i'm david powers, i'm trying to solicit LONG TERM sponsorship (3-6 years). i don't get the impression that CAT is interested in this.

to my ole Buddy Jim, I did the same with my gig, we would have drivers attend the races with the crew and be a part of the show it was very
good pr for the company and driver recruitment

G Kelly

nice numbers. they should sign on for a few years or a few cars. unlike powerade- who does NOTHING but show those 2 stupid commercials every 10 seconds.

to my ole Buddy Jim
G Kelly

No hard feelings, I hope.

Folks may know I'm in the executive search business (in a special sub-set of finance). In this day of 4.7% unemployment, it is a tremendous challenge to recruit good people (even not-so-great people).